Religious Orders in the Townsville Diocese

Common Name - Formal Name - Initials

  • Sisters of Mercy - Institute of Sisters of Mercy of Australia and Papua New Guinea (RSM)

  • Josephite Sisters - Sisters of St Joseph of the Sacred Heart (RSJ)

  • Good Samaritan Sisters - Institute of the Sisters of the Good Samaritan of the Order of St Benedict (SGS)

  • Carmelite Fathers -  Order of Discalced Carmelites (OCD)

  • Christian Brothers - Congregation of Christian Brothers (CFC)

  • Franciscan Friars - Order of Friars Minor (OFM)

  • Vincentians - Congregation of the Mission (CM)

  • Missionary Congregation of the Blessed Sacrament (MCBS)
  • Holy Spirt Missionary Sisters (SSpS)
  • Daughters of Our Lady of the Sacred Heart (OLSH)
  • Divine Word Missionaries (SVD)