There are four stages to the journey. Each one concludes with a community ceremony (RITE) which acts as a starting point to the next stage. At each Rite the candidates affirm their intention to proceed to the next stage while the community commits to supporting them on their journey.

The four stages during the process are:

  1. Enquiry - candidates make initial enquiries about the Catholic faith
    - Rite of Welcome
  2. Formation in Christian Life - a period of learning the teaching of Jesus through the Gospel and reflecting on how Catholics bear witness to their faith
    - Rite of Election
  3. Preparation for Easter - a time to prepare for the Sacraments of Initiation and reflect on the Easter message
    - Sacraments of Initiation
  4. Deepening of Faith - having received the Sacraments at the Easter Vigil the new Catholics reflect on the direction of their lives
    - Missioning Ceremony